Skehana Branch of N.F.A. set up in 1958

Meeting to set up a branch of the IFA in Skehana in 1958

Gerry Costello

National Farmers Association


A NEW branch of the National Farmers’ Association was formed recently in Skehana. The meeting was attended by the county organiser for the N.F.A., Mr. Martin O’Donnell. The following officers and committee were elected for the year: President: Rev. Fr. O’Donnell, C.C., Skehana; Chairman, Mr. Joe Duggan; Vice-Chairman, Mr. Matt Ruane; Secretary, Mr. Michael Jordan; Treasurer, Mr. James Hoade; Committee: Messrs. M. Fahy, T. Forde, Ml. Tannlan, Ml. Hansberry and Ml. Flaherty; delegates to the Co. Executive: Ml. Tannian. Ml. Hansberry and the Secretary Mr Michael Jordan.

(© Connacht Tribune 1909-current, Saturday, May 17, 1958)


Farmers Meet At Menlough:

Deligates from Ballymacward, Caltra, Gurteen, Manlough and Skehana Branches of the National Farmer’s Association attended a meeting at Menluugn for the purposes of forming a regional executive of the N.F.A. Mr. Martin O’Donnell, organising secretary addressing the meeting, outlined the benefits to be derived from dividing the county into regions. An Important advantage would be the strengthening of the Association in the matter of co-operative buying. It was proposed to invite a representative from the I.O.A.S. to Menlough to give a lecture on the cooperative system. Mr Sean Conheeney, Caltra Branch, spoke on the advisability for erecting a live-stock mart in Mountbellew, which he said, was a very important fair centre and the one in which most of the stock, in-the area were sold. It was agreed, on the proposition of Mr. Conheeney, that Mountbellew Branch be co-opted to the Menlougli Regional Executive.

The following officers were elected: Chairman: Mr. Michael Usher; Menlough; Vice-Chairman: Mr. Jim Cannon, Gurteen; Treasurer; Mr. John Kenny, Ballymacward: Secretary.; Mr. Scan Conheeney, Caltra; Delegated to Co. Executive: Messrs. Paddy Collins. Menlough, Michael Jordan, Skehana and Sean Conheenev. Caltra. The following were elected to act on the Commodity Committee’s Co. Executive: Grain: Mr. M. Tannian. Skehanagh; Pigs and, Bacon; Mr. Paddy Collins, Mcnlough;. Potatoes; Mr. John Kllgannon. Menlough; Wool: Mr . John Hogan, Caltra;” ‘ Livestock; Mr John J. Gavin. Mount Bellew.

(© Connacht Tribune 1909-current, Saturday, November 15, 1958)
This page was added on 02/04/2015.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *