Master Townland

Townland:                              Ballinrooaun

Civil Parish:                           Moylough

Barony:                                    Tiaquin  

Church Parish:                     Killascobe

District Elect. Division:    Derryglassaun

Poor Law Union:                 Mountbellew

Down Survey Name:         Carrowcornovragh

Area:                648 Acres   2 Roods   38 Perches

1901 Census 

1911 Census 

Ordnance Survey Map 1840

Townland Features

Down Survey Map

Griffiths Valuation 1855  

Townland Description

The name Ballinrooaun is the anglicised spelling of its gaelic name of Baile an Ruadháin which translates as the ‘townland of the reddish place’. It derives its name from the vegetation that grew in this area many hundred years ago and there are two distinct reasons as to why the vegetation was this colour ……….  Read more.


This page was added on 15/07/2023.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.