Windfield Demesne

Jimmy Laffey November 2014

The Curraghaun
© Jimmy Laffey

Townland:                             Windfield Demesne

Civil Parish:                           Moylough

Barony:                                   Tiaquin  

Church Parish:                     Killoscobe

District Elect. Division:     Cooloo

Poor Law Union:                 Mountbellew

Down Survey Name:         Turloghgarrandana

Area:         691 Acres   2 Roods   34 Perches

1901 Census  1911 Census Ordnance Survey Map 1840    Townland Features Down Survey Map  Griffiths Valuation 1846 – 1855 

Townland Description

The townland name of Windfield Demesne dates from the construction of Windfield House by the Blake family in c.1771. The reason for this is, with the arrival of the landlordism era, the area of ground, or demesne, attached to many of our ‘Big Houses’ often had that description attached to end of an existing townland name or may indeed be given a complete new townland name. Other examples of this locally include Monivea Demesne, Ryehill Demesne, Abbert Demesne and Tiaquin Demesne among many others……………Read more


This page was added on 22/09/2014.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.